Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
Sign in to follow this  
ub3rmike

The great gun thread

Are there any other firearm enthusiasts in ADK? Background on me, I started shooting at the age of 16. My dad told me he would buy me a Russian SKS if I managed to keep my grades up, which was all the motivation I needed. Lead to buying a M9, to a SU-16, to a Springfield Armory Mil-Spec 1911, to a pair of AR-15s, to 3 Sig Sauer pistols, and so on to the point where I have to think long and hard about what firearms I actually do own. Back home I shoot on a weekly basis if not more. Went on to compete at Division Matches in Japan, definitely looking at possibly competing at NRA or CMP matches when I'm out of the Marines. I am currently on the hunt for a S&W Model 41, S&W 686 Service Stock Revolver, and S&W K-22 Masterpiece. As you can tell, I have a thing for Smith and Wesson pistols and revolvers even though most young shooters don't.

A little photojournalism on my favorite revolver in my collection:

[attachment=904:IMG_0327.JPG]

The Smith and Wesson 627-5 Performance Center

The S&W 627-5 PC is a modern take on the old S&W Model 17. Although most Smith and Wesson owners are familiar with the ubiquitous S&W 686 in .357 magnum, revolvers patterned off of the Model 17 have been largely absent in modern times. Back in the early 1930s, there was a demand for a handgun round that could defeat ballistic vests and automobile doors. The only round that accomplished such a demand was the .38 Super designed by Colt. Fast forward and Daniel B. Wesson lead S&W in the effort to develop the .357 magnum. The Model 17 was the first firearm designed to take the .357 magnum cartridge back in 1935. 

[attachment=903:IMG_0326.JPG]